Posted in relationships

Demand Curves: Pt 5

Met MK and PA for dinner and drinks at Canoe Club. Here’s what happened. We ordered something to eat and had a brief chat about research. PA research on Globalization and Perceptions of Rust Belt Workers. Very timely stuff.  In about twenty days, he’ll be scheduled for nonstop press briefings and TV appearances to talk about the economic climate. PA is extremely cutting edge and will have a big impact on politics.  MK research on energy pricing. Also very timely.  He’s a big name in environmental economics.  More about that later.  Because I rarely get to see him, I teased MK a bit about reading some drafts from my dissertation and he teased me back about being behind schedule. Deep down there is deep frustration between us but with PA here neither of us hashed it out and were went back in forth cordially. The conversation moved to the new year, my new job, and new beginnings. We raised our glasses and drank and ordered more. We are all scotch people.

PA is extremely cutting edge and will have a big impact on politics.  MK research on energy pricing. Also very timely.  He’s a big name in environmental economics.  More about that later.  Because I rarely get to see him, I teased MK a bit about reading some drafts from my dissertation and he teased me back about being behind schedule. Deep down there is deep frustration between us but with PA here neither of us hashed it out and were went back in forth cordially. The conversation moved to the new year, my new job, and new beginnings. We raised our glasses and drank and ordered more. We are all scotch people.

At one point, MK gets up and heads over the bar to flirt with a young blonde woman.  My eyes locked with PA and I looked away quickly. There was a long pause that lasted a couple of seconds and then he asked about Poppy. PA is on the dissertation committee for Poppy’s boyfriend EM. They are close friends so I have to be diplomatic.

When MK rejoins us, I am explaining to PA how desperately I miss Poppy.

“It’s impossible that you wouldn’t miss such a companion”, PA says.  And MK agrees with him, then suggests that I reach out to Coco if I am looking for a roommate.  I shrug and make a face.  Coco.  No way.  PA registers this changes the subject.  This time to what a what a wonderful couple Poppy and EM makes.   I can’t show them how sour I am about Poppy and EM as a couple so I add, “their relationship gives me so much joy because I made the match myself, four years ago.  Poppy was terribly in love with EM since high school but they drifted apart during grad school.  I ran into EM here and insisted that they correspond.  Of course, EM was a terrible playboy at the time but I thought he would reform.  It is wonderful to be proven right when many people said that EM would never settle down.”

And so there I am boasting about a match that I should not have made and privately thinking that I will soon be proven wrong.  I suppose that I had better pause here and explain what is going on.

Poppy, EM, and I all went to high school together.  I was a scholarship student, Poppy was studious and efficient, EM was the popular guy that all the girls giggled about, the highest scorer of the “senior salute” — it’s a boarding school thing where senior guys score by seducing as many girls as possible.  And of course Poppy was in love with him.  She claims that it was love at first sight and wanted a relationship from the get-go.

We all ended up going to undergrad at different schools and that should have been the end of it.  Except it wasn’t.  EM and I both ended up at Noble for a PhD and Poppy visited me, they started dating, she took a researcher post, and now she is doomed.  Worse than doomed.  She is in pre-engaged hell.  And to top it off they are moving in together.

Do you see the problem here?  Poppy really, really needs to get married.  It’s important to her.  And he’s not giving her the committment.  She has given up everything for him and he has everything to gain and nothing to lose!

Leave a Reply

